Ordine degli Architetti, Pianificatori, Paesaggisti e Conservatori della provincia di Milano

Login area Subscribe

/Premio Neo Laureati


Order of Architects of Milan and its Foundation give awards for the best thesis on design and architecture.

The Best Graduates Award was created in 2003 to filter out the best and most interesting architecture, design, landscape and restoration thesis of Milan Polytechnic’s graduates. The award wants to put recent graduates in touch with professional and cultural realities and present them to a broad, interested public.

Every year representatives of the Order of Architects of Milan take part to the Polytechnic’s Master Degree Committee Members Boards and select the best thesis choosing the Award participants. Winners are picked from this shortlist by a jury of high-profile professionals nominated annually by the Order of Architects.

The theses participating in the 2020 edition were 74, 126 students of the Politecnico di Milano.

 The 2020 edition of the Best Graduates Award is supported by the Japanese association ADF-Aoyama Design Forum.


1st prize: 1.000,00 € + 4 books edited by Fondazione OAMI
2nd prize: 500,00 € + 3 books edited by Fondazione OAMI
3rd prize: 250,00 € + 2 books edited by Fondazione OAMI

Special mentions
To the authors of the theses mentioned will be given a selection of books published by Fondazione OAMi.

Jury 2020: 
Antonella Boisi, Journalist, Mondadori
Alberto Bortolotti, Councelor Order of Architects of Milan
Francesca Frassoldati, Professor at Politecnico di Torino
Davide Frattini Frilli, Architect and designer
Yukio Ishiyama, President of GARDE Italy

Winner of 2020 edition. 
1° Prize
Marco Rizzo, author of the thesis “Architectural symbiosis / monumental necessity: Superclub +. History and interpretation of the contemporary Club through functional hybridization: Retrofitting of the / 'Ex Cinema Alpi in Milan ".

The thesis of Marco Rizzo was awarded, according to the jury's motivation, "for the complexity of the project and the ability to synthesize the relationship with the existing and integration of new functions".  

From the abstract of the thesis: "The thesis explores in parallel the evolution of a declared historical, social and architectural context linked to the world of the Club and Clubbing, converging in a concrete design hypothesis with a specific project architectural retrofitting. The theme of the Club has recently been the object of growing attention from critics, sociologists and architects, witnessing numerous exhibitions and publications, from the Venice Biennale 2014 to the Vitra Museum in Basel in 2018, defining the Club as a barometer of contemporary society. The descending architectural response meta-bolises and considers the background of the information collected in the research phase, and therefore develops transversely between the compositional themes tangent to architectural reuse and the functional hybrid , through an architectural strategy of parasitic symbiosis. Clubs and nightclubs, now decimated in number due to causes ranging from technological to social and d economic, have traditionally played a marginal role by critics, as places populated by young people and denigrated by the media".


The news with all the results of the 2020 edition is visible here.

Winners of the last editions: 

Winner Giovanni Gualdrini with the thesis Sewing Ahmedabad’s Wounds - Design experimentation in a context of cultural division.


Alessandro Alì, architect Ubistudio and professor at Politecnico di Milano
Cristina Alinovi, architect and manager for urban planning and territory, PIM Study Center
Walter Mariotti, director of Domus
Stefano Poli, architect and professor at Politecnico di Milano
Marialisa Santi, councelor Order of Architects of Milan




Winners Sofia PaoliBeatrice Maria Rogantini Picco and Simone Marchetti with the thesis Last Landscape – a park cemetery in the Farini railway yard


Luisa Bocchietto, president of World Design Organization
Yukio Ishiyama, president GARDE Italy
Enrico Molteni, architect
Paola Nicolin, editor-at-large Domus
Alessandro Trivelli,  councelor Order of Architects of Milan



Winners Maria Vittoria Monaco and Riccardo Miccoli with the thesis Convivium, nuovi spazi di socialità per il carcere di Verziano.


Alessandro Trivelli, councelor Order of Architects of Milan
Giulia Setti, Politecnico of Milan
Enrico Scaramellini, architect
Silvia Botti, director of Abitare
Franco Raggi, architect


Winners Valeria Chiozzi and Tommaso Latini with the thesis The village of Toiano. Regeneration of an agricultural landscape: sustainable tourism and wine production.


Paolo Brambilla, councelor Order of Architects of Milan
Donatella Bollani, vice director Domus
Laura Montedoro, docente Politecnico of Milan
Monica Margarido, architect
Stefano Tropea, councelor Order of Architects of Milan



Winner Davide Vernocchi with the thesis Manhattanville Urban Campus.

Paolo Danelli, architect
Paola Pierotti, journalist   
Gennaro Postiglione, Politecnico of Milano
Franco Raggi, vicepresident Order of Architects of Milan
Nunzio Sciveres, architect






Tel. +39 02 62534.356